Cloud Infrastructure Providers Powering Blockchain Networks
A comparison of AWS, Google Cloud and Cloudflare for blockchain projects: managed node services being retired, self-hosting tools, pricing signals, outage records and regulatory status.
- AWS stops taking new Managed Blockchain customers Oct. 29, 2026; Google Cloud shuts its blockchain node service Dec. 15, 2026.
- Cloudflare offers Ethereum and IPFS gateways and fee-free R2 storage, but we found no hosted-node product.
- Five of six documented 2025-2026 outages reached crypto platforms; the sixth, at Google Cloud, has no verified crypto impact.
Length of three documented outages, in hours (our calculation from provider timestamps: Google Cloud 10:51 to 18:18 PDT; AWS 11:48 p.m. to 2:20 p.m. PDT; Cloudflare about 11:20 to 17:06 UTC). Windows are measured differently, so this is not a reliability ranking.
At a glance
| Company | Best for | Node tooling | Latest dated move |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hyperscale clouds | |||
| Amazon Web Services | Teams running their own nodes on rented servers | Open-source templates for 5 chains | Managed Blockchain closes to new customers Oct. 29, 2026 |
| Google Cloud | Financial institutions exploring a permissioned ledger | None found | Node service shuts down Dec. 15, 2026 |
| Edge network | |||
| Cloudflare | Front ends, APIs and storage around a chain | Gateways only | NET Dollar stablecoin announced Sept. 25, 2025 |
As of Oct. 26, 2026. Node tooling means products for running or reaching chain nodes; "None found" means we found no such product in the company's documentation. Dates come from company documentation and are listed in the tables below.
Blockchain projects rent servers, bandwidth and storage from a few large companies. Amazon Web Services and Google Cloud have now set dates to retire their managed node products.
We found no node-hosting product at Cloudflare. What is left to compare is where nodes run, how front ends stay online and what each provider records when it fails.
How this market works
A blockchain project needs servers that run node software, endpoints that wallets and apps call, and a way to keep its website and APIs reachable. Cloud providers sell the servers and the network. Specialist node providers sell the endpoints.
Buyers choose between three paths: run nodes on rented servers, pay a node provider, or use a provider's own managed product. Both hyperscale clouds are closing the third path. Buyers keep the first two.
| Layer | What happens | AWS | Google Cloud | Cloudflare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Own-node templates | Customer runs node software on rented machines | ● | — | — |
| Managed node access | Provider runs the node or gateway; customer calls an endpoint | ○ | ○ | ○ |
| Edge and filtering | Caching and attack filtering in front of apps | Not checked | Not checked | ● |
| Own chain or token | Provider sponsors a ledger or stablecoin | — | ○ | ○ |
● core product today; ○ ending, announced or limited; — none found; "Not checked" means we did not verify it. Cloudflare's edge role is as it describes its CDN on its web3 page.
Why it matters now
Three dates drive the topic. Amazon Web Services will stop accepting new Managed Blockchain customers on Oct. 29, 2026, according to its documentation. Support ends Sept. 29, 2027.
Google Cloud says its node service shuts down Dec. 15, 2026.
Regulators now supervise large cloud providers directly. The European supervisory authorities published their first list of critical ICT third-party providers under the Digital Operational Resilience Act on Nov. 18, 2025.
According to law firm TLT, the list has 19 providers and includes AWS and Google Cloud. TLT does not name Cloudflare, and we did not open the full list.
The UK followed on July 10, 2026. HM Treasury designated four cloud and technology providers under its critical third parties regime, effective July 13, according to CM Alliance. That list names AWS and Google Cloud entities, and does not include Cloudflare.
Managed node services
| Provider | Product | Chains listed | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS | Amazon Managed Blockchain | Ethereum, Bitcoin, Polygon; also query service and Hyperledger Fabric | New customers stop Oct. 29, 2026; support ends Sept. 29, 2027 |
| Google Cloud | Blockchain Node Engine | Ethereum on the pricing page | Shuts down Dec. 15, 2026; nodes and endpoints deleted |
| Cloudflare | Ethereum and IPFS gateways | Ethereum; IPFS content | No status label; no price on the page · Enterprise preview, non-contract |
As of Oct. 26, 2026. Cloudflare describes its Ethereum gateway as read and write access to Ethereum over HTTP.
Both clouds point customers elsewhere. Google names the node provider Quicknode as its migration partner. AWS lists Alchemy, QuickNode and Kaleido, or its own open-source templates.
Running your own nodes
| Chain | AWS | Google Cloud | Cloudflare |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ethereum | Template with Geth and Lighthouse | Managed node until Dec. 15, 2026 | Gateway only |
| Bitcoin | Template with Bitcoin Core | None found | None found |
| Solana | Template for validator and RPC clients | None found | None found |
| Base | Template for the OP Stack | None found | None found |
| BNB Chain | Template for BNB Smart Chain nodes | None found | None found |
| Polygon | No template; official guide cited | None found | None found |
As of Oct. 26, 2026. AWS templates are the open-source Blockchain Node Runners; its repository says community templates are not vetted by the core maintainers.
AWS is the only one of the three with published templates for several chains.
Customers own availability, security, upgrades and chain sync, as AWS's own migration guide says. That cost moves from the provider to the project team.
Published pricing signals
| Item | AWS | Google Cloud | Cloudflare |
|---|---|---|---|
| Managed Ethereum node | Not checked | $0.69 per full-node hour; $2.74 archive | Not published |
| Internet egress | Not checked | Standard Tier: first 200 GiB free, then $0.085 per GiB up to 10,240 GiB | R2 storage: none |
| Object storage | Not checked | Not checked | $0.015 per GB-month |
As of Oct. 26, 2026, from each company's pricing page. Google's node price applies until the Dec. 15, 2026 shutdown. Its Premium Tier egress rate was not on the page we opened. We could not open AWS's price page. Cloudflare R2 charges $4.50 per million Class A operations and $0.36 per million Class B operations.
According to Cloudflare's documentation, there are no charges for egress bandwidth on any R2 storage class.
Egress is the bill for data leaving a provider. It grows for projects that serve large files or sync nodes, so it deserves its own line in any comparison.
Outages that reached crypto platforms
| Date | Provider | Cause as stated | Window | Crypto impact |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apr. 15, 2025 | AWS (Tokyo) | Connectivity issue | Under 40 minutes | Binance paused withdrawals for 23 minutes; KuCoin and MEXC also hit |
| June 12, 2025 | Google Cloud | Faulty policy change replicated globally | 7 hours 27 minutes | Not verified |
| Oct. 19-20, 2025 | AWS (us-east-1) | DNS race condition in DynamoDB | 11:48 p.m. to 2:20 p.m. PDT | Coinbase, Robinhood, Trust Wallet |
| Nov. 18, 2025 | Cloudflare | Oversized bot-management file | About 11:20 to 17:06 UTC | Coinbase, Ledger, BitMEX, Kraken front ends |
| Dec. 5, 2025 | Cloudflare | Control panel and API issues | Not disclosed | Coinbase, Kraken |
| May 7, 2026 | AWS (us-east-1) | Cooling issue in one zone | Not disclosed | Coinbase; CME Direct also affected, cause not stated |
Sources: AWS and Google Cloud incident reports; TechEconomy, Forklog, Cointelegraph, Tangem and Invezz. Cloudflare's window is from an ilert summary of its post-mortem. This is a list of documented events, not an uptime ranking.
The table does not say one provider is less reliable. The companies differ in size and in what they run, and we did not search every incident.
AWS's own report put the October 2025 root cause in a DynamoDB DNS automation fault. Cloudflare's explanation points to a file that grew past a limit. Neither cause is a blockchain failure, yet crypto front ends went down.
Strengths and limits on record
| Provider | Strengths on record | Limits on record |
|---|---|---|
| AWS | Templates for five chains; a public post-event summary with remediation steps | Managed Blockchain closing; three documented incidents with crypto-platform impact since April 2025 |
| Google Cloud | Flat hourly node price while the service ran; a public incident page with times | Node service shutting down; a 7-hour 27-minute outage in June 2025 |
| Cloudflare | No egress fees on R2; gateways that let web apps reach Ethereum and IPFS | No hosted nodes found; two incidents in 2025 reached crypto front ends |
Each cell restates a public record cited above. "Strengths" and "limits" are not scores.
Competition by capability
| Capability | AWS | Google Cloud | Cloudflare |
|---|---|---|---|
| Managed node or gateway product today | ○ | ○ | ○ |
| Open templates for several chains | ● | — | — |
| Fee-free egress on object storage | Not checked | Not checked | ● |
| Own chain or token initiative | — | ○ | ○ |
| Named critical provider in EU list (Nov. 18, 2025) | ● | ● | Not verified |
| Named in UK critical third parties designation (July 10, 2026) | ● | ● | — |
| Documented crypto-platform impact, 2025-2026 | ● | Not verified | ● |
● yes; ○ ending, announced or limited; — none found in our review; "Not verified" means the source we opened did not settle it. The last row is a record of events, not a quality score.
Competition here is not head to head. The two hyperscale clouds appear on the same regulatory lists and have taken the same step on managed nodes.
Cloudflare is a different layer. It sits in front of an app, not under it.
Provider notes
Amazon Web Services
What it does: rents servers and sells Managed Blockchain, now closing, and the open-source Node Runners templates.
Who it serves: exchanges, wallets and node operators that already run on AWS. Several reported disruption on Oct. 20, 2025.
Footprint: templates for Ethereum, Solana, Base, BNB Chain and Bitcoin.
Licenses: named in the EU and UK critical-provider lists cited above.
Recent moves: end-of-support notice for Managed Blockchain; support ends Sept. 29, 2027.
Watch: whether more of the migration moves to third-party providers after Oct. 29, 2026.
Google Cloud
What it does: sold Blockchain Node Engine for Ethereum; unveiled the permissioned Google Cloud Universal Ledger on Aug. 27, 2025, according to The Defiant.
Who it serves: financial institutions, per that report; the node product served developers.
Footprint: Ethereum on the node product's pricing page.
Licenses: named in the EU and UK critical-provider lists cited above.
Recent moves: shutdown notice for the node service, effective Dec. 15, 2026.
Watch: whether the ledger moves from announcement to a live network. We found no launch date.
Cloudflare
What it does: runs an edge network; offers Ethereum and IPFS gateways and R2 storage with no egress fees.
Who it serves: crypto front ends and APIs, per the incident reports above.
Footprint: Ethereum and IPFS gateways; R2 storage.
Licenses: not among the four UK designations; EU list not verified for Cloudflare.
Recent moves: announced NET Dollar on Sept. 25, 2025; its release names co-founder and CEO Matthew Prince and gives no launch date, per Business Wire.
Watch: a NET Dollar launch date or chain; none has been published in the sources we opened.
How buyers choose
- Roadmap risk - managed chain products are being retired; ask for the end-of-life policy in writing and plan an exit before you need one.
- Where nodes sit - Messari reported in August 2022 that AWS hosted about half of Ethereum nodes located in data centers, per ForkLog. That is 2022 data; check current client and host diversity.
- Failure domains - every provider here has documented incidents; ask how your node and front end fail over across regions and providers.
- Egress cost - serving large files or syncing nodes moves a lot of data; compare egress prices, not only compute.
- Regulatory status - EU financial entities should check whether their provider is on the DORA list; UK firms should check the critical third parties designation.
- Layer separation - a front end behind an edge network and a node on a cloud fail independently; map which dependency is where.
What to watch
- Oct. 29, 2026 - AWS stops accepting new Managed Blockchain customers; new projects must choose self-hosting or an outside provider.
- Dec. 15, 2026 - Google Cloud deletes remaining Blockchain Node Engine nodes and endpoints.
- Sept. 29, 2027 - AWS ends Managed Blockchain support for existing customers.
Methodology and limits
Universe: the three providers named in the brief, AWS, Google Cloud and Cloudflare. Other cloud and node providers are out of scope. Sources: company documentation, release notes, incident reports and named press reports, each linked above. Not opened: AWS's current price pages, compliance attestations for any provider, Cloudflare's own post-mortem pages (we used a third-party summary) and Google's current Universal Ledger status. The June 2025 Google Cloud outage has no verified crypto impact. Derived numbers: the outage durations in the chart, computed from provider timestamps. Corrections are welcome; inclusion is never paid.